Your cart is empty.

Personal Memoirs

Showing 1-10 of 12 titles.
Sort by:

Angry, Queer Somali Boy

“A tour de force. ” —Omayra Issa, Radio-Canada

Kidnapped by his father on the eve of Somalia’s societal implosion, Mohamed Ali was taken first to the Netherlands by his stepmother, and then later ...

The Listener

In The Listener, a daughter receives a troubling gift: her mother’s stories of surviving World War II in Poland.  During the Holocaust, Irene Oore’s mother escaped the death camps by concealing ...

Finding Father

“So much respect in these voices. And yearning. And generosity. And love. ” —David Bergen, author of The Time in Between and Stranger

Finding Father is a collection of stories about Mennonite fathers ...

Voice

 In Voice, Adam Pottle explores the crucial role deafness has played in the growth of his imagination, and in doing so presents a unique perspective on a writer’s development. Born deaf in both ears, ...

The Organist

Harry Abley was a nightmare of a father: depressive, self-absorbed, unpredictable, emotionally unstable. He was also a dream of a father: gentle, courageous, artistically gifted. Mark Abley, his only ...

Otto & Daria

A poignant memoir of lives cleaved by war, Otto and Daria is the first-hand account of Eric Koch, a man who once was called Otto. As a Jewish refugee from WWII Germany, Otto first left his country for ...

Inside The Mental

"A revelatory account of the importance that psychiatric treatment and research from the 1950s has for mental health today. " Jean Freeman, author of Fists upon a Star

Before she became a psychiatric nurse ...

Time Will Say Nothing

Sorbonne-educated and the author of almost 30 books, Ramin Jahanbegloo, a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi, was arrested and detained in Iran’s notorious Evin prison ...