Your cart is empty.
A Book of Ecological Virtues - Living Well in the Anthropocene

A Book of Ecological Virtues

Living Well in the Anthropocene

Paperback : 9780889777569, 304 pages, October 2020
Hardcover : 9780889777620, 304 pages, October 2020
Expected to ship: 2020-10-03

Description

For readers of The Sixth Extinction, a manifesto for meaningfully confronting our role in climate change and committing to sustainable, eco-friendly living during an era irrevocably marked by human activity.
 
Despite our brief tenure on planet Earth, Homo sapiens have caused an epoch of climate change and declining ecological diversity: the Anthropocene. This age has been singularly defined by humans’ unique and unprecedented ability to destroy our only habitat. In the face of global warming and animal extinction, it is vitally important we collectively turn toward the cultivation of eco-virtues—a new set of values by which to live—if there is to be any hope for us and other species to continue to exist.
 
Within this collection are Nunavut hunters, religious theologists, acclaimed academics and poets—including writing by philosopher and poet Jan Zwicky recently deemed a seminal text on climate change by The Guardian. The contributors bring a wide breadth of perspectives from diverse realms of philosophy, culture, belief, and writing style.
 
A Book of Ecological Virtues: Living Well in the Anthropocene speaks to humanity’s mortality and transience within the study of ecology, including the environmental ramifications of longer life, improved medicine and treatments, and even funeral rites. It is a philosophical and timely collection of essays on how we can embody a more sustainable future through daily action and habit change.
 
“A significant contribution to eco-philosophy, and to our collective discourse on the human-nature relationship. ”—Laura Sewall, author of Sight and Sensibility: The Ecopsychology of Perception

 

Reviews

“A significant contribution to eco-philosophy, and to our collective discourse on the human-nature relationship. ”—Laura Sewall, author of Sight and Sensibility: The Ecopsychology of Perception